Christmas

Christmas…

Image  Image

We attended Christmas Eve service at our church with about 40 other people. It was a lovely time being with our church family, singing Christmas carols, and worshipping God for giving us the reason for this wonderful season.  After service, we came home, had a snack and each opened one gift as we always do on Christmas Eve. I opened a gift from my hubby, which was a wonderful comfy pair of Roots slippers – they’re lovely, I’ve barely taken them off since!

We woke up at 6 on Christmas morning and tried really hard to get back to sleep, but it didn’t really happen.  We got up just before the alarm went off at 8:30 and went downstairs. We grabbed a piece of toast for breakfast in anticipation of a big lunch later in the day.  We started opening our gifts and my brother-in-law arrived soon after to open his gifts, too.  We were very spoiled this year! Among my favourite gifts I received are: U-Draw for the Xbox, Nick Vujicic’s new book, Beverly Lewis’ new book, lots of fancy scarfs, a pair of Olympic Mittens, a beautiful owl necklace from my brother, and a gorgeous new top from my mom.

My all-time favourite gift came from my husband.  He paid tuition for me to complete 150 hours of TESOL training! It is something I have wanted to do for a very long time, but have always felt like we couldn’t afford it or it wasn’t the right time or (insert ten million other excuses here).  I am so excited to get started.  Right now, we are completing an employment-readiness course which we have six more weeks of in the New Year – so as soon as that is done with, I will be starting my TESOL training. It also includes a TEFL certificate, which will open even more doors for jobs for me. I am extremely excited to get started.

After opening our gifts, I went upstairs and called my family and talked for a little bit; had a shower, got dressed, and then hubby and I walked up to Nanny and Poppy’s for lunch.  It takes us about 30 minutes to get to their place, so I think I had burned off all my calories I had already had before partaking of a very large (and super delicious) lunch.  I love Stephen’s grandparents – it is hard being away from my own family every year, but they always make me feel welcome. After lunch, Stephen and I walked back home to burn off some more calories.  We watched a couple episodes of Ghost Whisperer and lounged around, then got his mom to take some pictures of us while we were still dressed up.

We had a lovely Christmas. We were super blessed as always and feel very fortunate for our families and how they show us they love us in such thoughtful ways.  We are thankful for the opportunity to give and receive love from our families.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

