Happy New Year

Happy New Year!

 

I’m not really one for making New Year’s Resolutions.  Too many times I would decide to make one and fall through on it, followed by guilt and disappointment in myself.  So I don’t really plan to make any this year.

Here is what I do resolve to have happen this upcoming year though. Think of it as a list of dreams/ideas for a good year:

-I would love to have a place that is just Stephen’s and mine by the end of the year. We have been living with my in-laws for a little over a year now and, while we appreciate it for sure, it’s been long enough. Everyone is ready for their own space.

-Find a job that I truly love.  Neither of has worked this year. It’s been lovely being able to focus on our health and well-being, but I would really love to have a job. I have been self-employed as a tutor for the past year, but have found it difficult to find clients. If I could find myself a good client base, I would be very, very happy to “just” be a tutor.

-Have my husband find a job he loves or continue his education.  It has been difficult for Stephen not being able to provide financially the way he would like to.  With all of his hard work to complete his Kingswood degree, seeing it come to naught has been kind of frustrating.  I would love for us to be able to find the finances for him to obtain either his Masters in Counselling or B.A. in Social Work. 

-Complete my TESOL/TEFL certificates.  My husband surprised me this Christmas by paying my tuition to start my training and I have until April to register, then one year to complete my 150 hours of certification.  I am super excited about this opportunity.

-Travel. The two of us have never been on a vacation that didn’t involve visiting one set of parents or the other.  I would love for us to be able to take a trip somewhere relaxing and preferably tropical. Or Japan. Japan is at the top of my list of places I NEED to go.

-Continue making good choices.  As I’ve said before, this past year has been all about focusing on our health and wellness.  Stephen has lost a total of 133.5 lbs. in 2012 and has about 60 lbs. more to go to reach his goal.  I have lost a little bit of weight, but didn’t have much to lose. Unfortunately, some of it found me again over the holiday season – so I’d like to get rid of that and continue moving towards wellness. 

I guess I do have some “resolutions” for the upcoming year, but I wouldn’t necessarily call them resolutions. I do hope that all of these come true though – it would make for a pretty awesome year of 2013!

Here’s to a Happy New Year, friends and family. Be safe and happy as you celebrate tonight.

Leave a Reply

